Lucy in the Sky by Paige Toon

1032295

Read: 16 December 2012 (originally July 2012)
Why: Recommended by Lindsey Kelk

Rating: 5 stars

Brief synopsis: Lucy is returning to Sydney after nine years for the wedding of her two best friends, Molly and Sam. Just as she’s about to take off, she receives a text claiming that her boyfriend is cheating on her – at the first opportunity she calls James and of course, he denies it. With things at home uncertain, how will Lucy react to attention from a sexy, messy-haired surfer? Can she keep him out of her thoughts when she returns to London?

What I thought: I can’t believe I had this on my bookcase for so long before reading it – its fantastic! Lucy is a great character; likeable and clearly torn between her heart and her head. I love the little jokes Lucy and Nathan tell, they really lighten the story and Paige obviously knows both London and Sydney really well as there are detailed descriptions of both cities. My favourite part though, had to be the ending – in my opinion, she definitely made the right choice.

The only fault I could find with this book was the epilogue – it was just too short! Dont be disheartened by this though, as I later found out, characters pop up in other Paige Toon books – you just need to keep reading!

Favourite quote:
“‘My heart is here, with you,’ I say, resting my hand on his beautiful chest. ‘As long as I’m with you, everything else will fall into place.'”

Lucy in the Sky

Leave a Reply

