Pictures of Lily by Paige Toon

7134057

Read: 21 December 2012 (originally July 2012)
Why: Loved Paige Toon’s other books

Rating: 5 stars

Brief synopsis: When Richard asks Lily to marry him, her first thought is of Ben – the guy she fell in love with 10 years ago, the one that got away. Not wanting to marry Richard whilst Ben still has part of her heart, Lily struggles with her unrequited love – the last time she saw him, 10 years ago, he was leaving for London to get married. Did he get married? Does he still feel for Lily? Will she ever see him again?

What I thought: There seems to be a bit of a recurring theme developing in Paige’s books – they’re all about being torn between two loves – and I love it! This book takes us back to Australia so we’re reunited with Lucy, Nathan, Molly & Sam from Lucy in the Sky. Unlike other split books, this one is split roughly 50:50 between 10 years ago and the present which I thought was great; it really gave me an understanding of Lily’s feelings for Ben yet left enough time for the rest of the story to develop.

Favourite quotes:
“It’s all very well for Meg Idiot Ryan and Tom Pratty Hanks to email each other till their hearts are content, but who pays the consequences? Me, that’s who. Here I am in goddamn Kangaroo Land going to live with a man I’ve never even met because my mum has fallen in love. Again”

“And just like that, I make my first friend in Australia. A friend called Ben. I reckon Michael Jackson would have approved.”

Pictures Of Lily

Leave a Reply

