Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon

9566822

Read: 30 December 2012 (originally August 2012)
Why: Loved Paige Toon’s previous books
Rating: 5 stars

Brief synopsis: The sequel to Johnny Be Good. Meg has a secret; her boyfriend Christian is not her son’s father, his best friend is. Barney is Johnny’s double; Meg is amazed that Christian hasn’t realised yet. When Johnny sees a photo of Barney, he immediately realises he’s the father and surprising everyone, he wants the chance to get to know his son so Meg and Barney follow him to LA. Can Johnny prove he can be a good father? Can Meg stop herself from falling in love with Johnny again?

What I thought: Argh! The beginning of this book is so frustrating. If I were a friend of Meg’s, I would have slapped her! Wallowing in self pity, when as the saying goes – it takes two to tango!

Unlike other Paige Toon books, I found this one quite hard to get into at the start. I felt that the writing wasn’t as fluid as the other books however once the story gets going (around chapter 6) that soon changed – I couldn’t put the book down and was up reading until 4am! I really felt for Meg, Christian and even Johnny at times: Christian’s betrayal by someone he trusted despite the history with Johnny and his ex-girlfriend; Meg’s loneliness and heartbreak; Johnny thinking his feelings for Meg were unreciprocated.

My favourite part had to be the ending though, I love it when they live happily ever after!

Favourite quote:
“‘I know I’m a traitor to the Brit abroad. I should be sitting outside getting prawn crackered, but I need air-con’ she says.
‘Prawn crackered?’ I laugh as I follow her.
‘Pink like a prawn and, you know, all crispy.'”

Baby Be Mine (Johnny Be Good, #2)

Leave a Reply

