Yours Truly by Kirsty Greenwood

15717655

Read: 7 January 2013
Why: Received good reviews on Goodreads.com

Rating: 4 stars

Brief synopsis: Natalie is a bit of a push-over, to afraid to hurt anyone’s feelings to tell them the truth or say no; so much so that her mum and sister have chosen her wedding dress for her! One night in the pub changes all of that and the girls set off to a small village in Yorkshire in search of the solution. Stranded in the snow, can they find the solution and get back to Manchester in time to save the wedding?

What I thought: The first time I tried to read this book, I put it down after just a few chapters – I just didn’t like how much of a push-over Natalie was… maybe I should have read the synopsis first!!

I decided to try it again after noticing it on a lot of bloggers’ top 2012 books lists and having been recommended by someone on Twitter. I’m really glad I did – it’s a great funny read.

What I liked most about this book was the originality of the story – a lot of chicklit stories tend to evolve around a few similar themes but this one is completely different. I will definitely be keeping an eye out of Kirsty’s second book.

Favourite quote: (Please don’t read if you are going to read the book as this is a spoiler)
“‘How was that, then, baby?’
I stroke my fingers up his arm, look up at him coquettishly and answer.
‘Well, you know. Short. Could have been longer. Longer time wise, I mean, not willy wise, though of course, that would be lovely too. I didn’t have an orgasm, but what else is new, hey? You’ve left me unsatisfied, if truth be told, Olly.'”

Yours Truly

Leave a Reply

