Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder (Falling #1)

17448960

Read: 27 March 2013
Why: Number 1 on iTunes chart

Rating: 4 stars

Brief synopsis: Nell wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway, she was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first.

One stormy night changes everything and Nell can’t stop hurting, blaming herself. That’s when she meets Kyle’s brother. Colton is different – he understands her pain. He doesn’t tell her it’s okay, he holds her whilst she cries and lets her be hurt, be broken and finally teaches her how to let go.

What I thought: This is a gripping, and rather tragic love story, told in three sections: the past (16 year old Nell), the present (aged 18) and then 2 years later.

I liked this book but at the same time I had a few issues with it…

1 – The phrase ‘Oh, god, oh, god, ohmigod’ and even worse, it’s wasn’t said in the throes of passion;
2 – The chapter titles which totally gave away the plot, and;
3 – 16 year old Nell. I know it’s been a while since I was 16, but she came across to me as a bit immature – more like a 13/14 year old.

If it hadn’t have been for the opening line, I’m not sure I would have bought this book. When I got to the end of the sample – part way through section one – I wasn’t particularly enjoying it but really wanted to know what would happen to make her fall in love with Colton. I’m really glad I did though as the gripping story far outweighed the few issues I had.

For me, the star of the book was Colton – a fantastic and complicated character. I really loved the contrasting sides of his personality; terrifyingly violent yet sweet and caring too.

There’s a second book in the Falling series due out later this year. It’s going to be a parallel story rather than a sequel but I really hope Nell and Colton feature heavily as I’d love to know what happens to them.

Favourite quotes:
“‘We have shared everything together. Every important thing in our lives has happened together. We learned to ride bikes together and we learned to swim together and we learned to drive cars together. We failed 8th grade algebra together. (Remember how nasty Mr. Jenkins was? How many times were we sent to the office that semester?). And now we’re learning how to fall in love together.'”

Falling Into You

Leave a Reply

