Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire (Beautiful #1)

image

Read: 1 April 2013 (originally August 2012)
Why: Recommended by Goodreads.com

Rating: SUPER STAR! 🌟

Brief synopsis: When Abby Abernathy moved to Eastern, it was with the understanding that her life would turn out a certain way. Or that it wouldn’t turn out a certain way. The fighting, the gambling, the drinking… it’s what she left behind. Unfortunately, Eastern has its own version and it’s all right there for her in the irresistible, tattooed package that is Travis Maddox.

What I thought: This is my FAVOURITE book. It’s so good, I bought both the ebook and paperback versions!

The female lead, Abby is ballsy unlike so many of the leads in other young/new adult books. She’s not some sweet/shy/naive girl; she’s purposely being the girl in the cardigan with the pearls, trying to avoid the bad-boys and escape her past. And she knows full well what she’s getting herself into when she agrees to be Travis’s friend.

Travis is… well, Travis. He’s everything you could want in a sexy bad boy and more!

The two characters together make for an intense story and a dysfunctional relationship, flipping from beautiful to disaster in the space of a page and then back again in another. The story is angsty, powerful, emotional and gripping from the first page – each time I’ve read it, I’ve devoured the book in one sitting! The final fight scene is particularly intense – the first time I read the book I realised I’d been holding my breath the whole scene. Even now, knowing what happens, I still have my heart in my mouth. The sure sign of a good book!

Please beware, there are negative reviews out there which mention the violence and abuse in this book. Please don’t let them put you off. Travis is an underground fighter. This is evident from the beginning of the book and clearly stated in the book’s synopsis, so he was never going to be a ‘dream boyfriend’ but not once does he try to abuse Abby. Not verbally, not physically, not mentally and not sexually. Not at all. Please trust me – I’ve read the whole book (on more than one occasion too), which sadly isn’t the case for some of these reviews.

Favourite quote:
“‘She’s not just a Porsche. She’s a Porsche 911 GT3. There’s a difference.’
‘Let me guess, it’s the love of your life?’ I said, quoting Travis’s statement about his motorcycle.
‘No, it’s a car. The love of my life will be a woman with my last name.’ ”

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)

Leave a Reply

