The Dirty Girls Book Club by Savanna Fox

image

Read: 13 May 2013
Why: Random purchase from iTunes chart

Rating: 4 stars

Brief synopsis: When the book club decide to swap their usual depressing books for a historical erotica, Georgia is surprised to find her personal situation similar to that of the main character, Emma. For Georgia, sex is about the emotional connection between two people in love. She’d never had an orgasm or even experienced arousal… until she met the figurehead for her latest marketing campaign, Woody.

Woody Hanrahan is Canada’s favourite hockey star, a star both on and off the ice. He’s the sort of man Georgia would usually avoid, but stood almost naked in front of her, it’s hard for either of them to hide the obvious arousal they’re feeling. With a sexual education that mirrors her book, Georgia fears her ‘relationship’ with Woody may suffer the same fate.

What I thought: I think the first line of the book sums it up perfectly for me – It took me a while to get into it; then I was hooked. The reason it took me a while to get into it: the third person narrative – I much prefer a first person story. The reason I was hooked: Woody.

The story alternates between Georgia and Woody’s perspectives. I found both characters to be instantly likeable but there was something about Woody – a softness beneath the tough-guy exterior – which really appealed to me.

For me personally, Woody made the story, not the book club. With the exception of the book excerpts which are cleverly interspersed in the story to keep the reader on their toes, I’m not sure the book club was that relevant to the story, never mind worthy of the book title.

The book is definitely worth a read but I don’t think I’ll be rushing out to buy book 2 in the series.

Favourite quote:
“Oh hell. He wasn’t concussed, but that blow to his head must have rattled his brain. He was standing here, naked and hard under his bathrobe, holding a gorgeous woman in his arms. His little head was screaming for sex whilst the big head had gone all girly and romantic?”

The Dirty Girls Book Club

