The Naughty Girls’ Book Club by Sophie Hart

image

Read: 29 May 2013
Why: Great review from Laura’s Book Reviews

Rating: 5 stars

Brief synopsis: With business dwindelling at Cafe Crumb in the quiet suburb of Bristol, Estelle decides a book club is just what the she needs to boost her sales. When the first book choice is criticised for being too old-fashioned, Estelle suggests the latest bestselling erotica to spice things up.

As the unlikely group continue with the erotic theme, they soon find themselves expanding their horizons and learning a lot from these naughty books.

What I thought: I will admit, I was slightly worried I wasn’t going to enjoy this book when I first started it – the lead character, Estelle is a forty two year old divorcee and being a bit younger myself, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to relate her. I soon realised I had nothing to worry about though, the other characters ranged from 20s to 60s. In fact, Sue and George, the eldest of the characters ended up being my favourites!

It was really easy to relate to the book club and I thought their discussions were spot on; mirroring those I had with my friends whilst reading the likes of Fifty Shades. I loved the way the story branched out from the book club to tell the stories of each member too – like five stories in one!

Overall, a fantastic and funny read which had me laughing out loud throughout. A bargain too at just 99p!

Favourite quote:
Discussing vibrators with the sales assistant
“‘Or if you’re looking for something discreet, this one’s great,’ she continued, picking up a gadget that was shaped like a lipstick. ‘You can just pop it in your handbag and no one knows. It’s great for if you’re on the move.’
Unable to help herself, Gracie burst into giggles. ‘I think someone might notice if I was using that on the bus.'”

The Naughty Girls Book Club

