Conditional Love by Cathy Bramley

image

Read: 27 October 2013
Why: Copy received as part of the blog tour

Rating: 4 stars

Brief synopsis:
Meet Sophie Stone, a thirty-something, serial-procrastinator. Tesco knickers, Take That, and tea with two sugars is about as exciting as it gets.

Out of the blue, it seems as though Sophie’s dreams have been answered when a mysterious benefactor leaves her an inheritance however there is a catch – a condition in the will that threatens the very foundations of Sophie’s world. What did the old lady want Sophie to discover?

What I thought: This is a great debut novel. There were so many different elements to the story, from the inheritance to her work life as well as snippets about her bickering housemates, I was always wondering what would happen next, right up to the last page. Cathy has a fantastic humorous writing style and a great knack for dropping references to 90s TV programmes into the story!

I’m a bit torn when it comes to the lead character, Sophie. On one hand, a funny likeable character but when it came to Marc or her mother, I really wanted her to strap on a pair and tell them where to go! Surely there’s no bloke worth being hungry or even worse, joining the gym for?!

The architect Nick was easily my favourite character – I loved his passion for his work, the awkward way he had about him and his ability to always say the wrong thing around Sophie; even managing to inadvertently insult the bungalow he was working on!

The downside for me was the lack of epilogue, I enjoyed the story so much I’d love read more and and discover what happened next for Sophie and friends. Fingers crossed for a sequel from Jess or Emma in the future!

You can add this beautiful knit-effect cover to your Kindle now for the bargain price of 99p!

Favourite quotes:
“There was nothing else for it; it would have to be three-tin-surprise. Not my favourite; in fact no one was fond of it. I had gleaned all my culinary talents from my mother; it hadn’t taken long. She was to cooking what Heston Blumenthal was to hairstyling: a total stranger. This particular concoction was like playing Russian roulette with your taste buds and suited my mood perfectly.”

Amazon link
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00FL0W0V6

One thought on “Conditional Love by Cathy Bramley

  1. Pingback: Fiction Addiction Book Tours : Tour details Conditional Love by Cathy Bramley | Fiction Addiction Book Tours

Comments are closed.

