Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

image

Rating: 5 stars

Brief synopsis: Miles doesn’t want love and Tate doesn’t have time for a relationship, but their chemistry cannot be ignored. Once their desires are out in the open, they realise they have the perfect set up, as long as Tate can stick to two rules – never ask about the past and don’t expect a future.

It doesn’t take Tate long to realise that this isn’t just a physical attraction for her but she just can’t seem to say no to the sexy pilot.

What I thought: I was SO excited when I got the email asking if I’d like to review this book – a Colleen Hoover book?! – like I would ever turn that down!

This book is exactly what you would expect from a Colleen Hoover book – it’s beautifully written and totally heartbreaking. Miles and Tate alternate their stories chapter-by-chapter with Tate telling the story of the present whilst Miles tells the story of six years ago.

Miles’ story sits perfectly around Tate’s, almost drip feeding Miles’ history into the story without ever giving away too much at once. This really adds to Miles’ mysteriousness – it’s clear that there is a really sweet guy underneath that pilot uniform but he really is broken and by the end of the book, you can completely understand why. I also love the way the way Miles’ story is written in mostly poetic form; it’s really easy to fall in love with the eighteen year old and at times you wonder whether the it’s really the same guy in Tate’s story.

Tate’s character is almost inconsequential at times but fits the book perfectly as it really is Miles’ story to tell. Tate has the biggest heart and I loved that Cap became her best friend!

Definitely a new favourite and a book I’m sure I’ll read over and over again.

Favourite quote:

“When I kissed all the other girls, I felt pleasure. That’s why people enjoy kissing, because it feels good.
But when you like to kiss someone because of who she is, the difference isn’t found in the pleasure.
The difference is found in the pain you feel when you’re not kissing her.”

Reason for choosing this book: One of my favourite authors/Copy received as part of the blog tour.

Available to pre-order now from Amazon

