One Hundred Christmas Proposals by Holly Martin

image

Rating: 4 stars

Blurb: If you thought Harry & Suzie’s life couldn’t get anymore sweepingly romantic than Harry asking her to marry him at the end of One Hundred Proposals – think again!

It’s Christmas in a snow-kissed London, and the.PerfectProposal.com have vowed to carry out one hundred proposals in December. No easy task at the best of times – made even more complicated by Harry & Suzie trying to plan their first Christmas and a visit from the dreaded in-laws. But one hundred deliciously Christmassy proposals later they find themselves asking if everything is still perfect in their own relationship…

Welcome back to the divinely warm world of One Hundred Proposals – with a sprinkling of pure, joyful, festive magic.

What I thought: Ok, so it took me a little while to get started with this book – absolutely nothing to do with the story – I was over the moon to see my name in the acknowledgements. MY NAME! I have to admit, I went a bit fan-girlish; squealed a bit, took a screen shot and sent it straight to my fiancé! Thank you so much Holly, you made my day!

And for the rest of the book…!

Well first of all, I have to say this book isn’t to be read as a stand alone. If you haven’t already read One Hundred Proposals, you should be ashamed. Go straight to 👉Amazon👈 and do not pass go! This review will contain a few spoilers for the first book.

I really loved One Hundred Proposals but I thought it wrapped up Harry and Suzie’s story quite nicely so I wasn’t sure that they needed a sequel. If I’m really honest, even after reading it, I’m still not sure they did. HOWEVER, it’s so hard to not get completely drawn into a story full of beautiful Christmas proposals.

With Harry and Suzie back in London running their hugely successful proposals business, this book takes a slightly different approach to its predecessor. The couple now blog about the Christmas proposals they’ve helped orchestrate rather than poor Harry’s constantly rejected proposals.

Just like the first book, this one is full of some beautiful proposals with my personal favourite being the ice-rink proposal. Thankfully, without the glamorous locations of the worldwide trip, the proposals were a little less extravagant this time – even I managed to keep the green-eyed monster at bay!* Even so, if you’re hoping your other half will be down on one knee this Christmas, and they’re not likely to have The Shard lit up with ‘Marry Me’, you might want to save this book for the new year!

Holly’s writing is, as always, completely captivating. Once I started reading it was impossible to put down. This relatively short story is the perfect read for a cold winter evening.

*It doesn’t help that my own engagement didn’t even involve a bag of chips! Still can’t remember why I said yes…!

Thank you to Holly for sending me a copy of the book and having me as part of the blog tour.

Available to buy now from Amazon. It’s just 59p too!

